Friday, June 29, 2012

What's the strangest job you can imagine? Write about someone who does it.

Thursday, June 28, 2012

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

What kind of art would your character create to express himself? Create it for him from his point of view.

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

What is the one thing your character identifies with the most? That he's a baseball player? A guitarist? An only child? A refugee? Explain in as much detail as possible why that attribute became so meaningful to him or take it away.

Monday, June 25, 2012

Write about a seemingly meaningless interaction that has a big impact.

Sunday, June 24, 2012

Write about someone who makes an unusual deal or bargain.

Saturday, June 23, 2012

Write about someone who has everything and suddenly loses it all or someone who has nothing and suddenly gets everything.

Friday, June 22, 2012

Write about the winner.

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Write about two characters who have been thwarted by the decision of only one of them.

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Write something persuasive. Change someone's mind.

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Give your character the power to control something most of us can't control.

Monday, June 18, 2012

What happens when we run out (of chocolate, helium, water, space, money, time, etc.)? Write about it.

Friday, June 15, 2012

Write about your favorite song. Dissect the lyrics. Describe the changes in mood as the song progresses. Explain the sounds of the instruments and voices.

Thursday, June 14, 2012

Write about the one who didn't make it.

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

How much story can you tell in 1,000 words? Be succinct and force yourself to stop before 1,001.

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Write about a character who sucks at doing something. Then help the character get better at it.

Monday, June 11, 2012

Sunday, June 10, 2012

Who was the first family to live in the house? Who was the last family to live in the house? Do they have any connection?

Saturday, June 9, 2012

Start at the end and work your way back.

Friday, June 8, 2012

Write about a new break in technology that no one else has considered yet or the world that will exist once technology has gone as far as it can go.

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Write about the tiniest thing you can see.

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Write about the most unusual friend.

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Describe the moment when everything changed.

Monday, June 4, 2012

See how many one liners you can come up with--brilliant sentences that have nothing to do with each other, but might inspire a story idea in the future. Try your hand at description, dialogue, and action, but make every line powerful.

Sunday, June 3, 2012

Write about someone who goes somewhere for the first time--somewhere everyone else has already been.

Saturday, June 2, 2012

Write about someone who is a genius in his field... whatever field that might be.

Friday, June 1, 2012

Write about someone who gets away with it.